Budding Reader Set 5: Hens (10 books)

Melinda Thompson

Devonhall Publishing LLC

Budding Reader Set 5: Hens (10 books)

Reading is a neurologically complex skill. So, it isn’t surprising that many children find learning to read difficult. Make learning to read more fun with award-winning Budding Reader eBooks, arguably the easiest learn-to-read book series on the market. These research-based eBooks were developed in consultation with Cecilia Minden, Ph.D., the former Director of Language and Literacy at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. They were illustrated by artist, Doug Oglesby, winner of one Emmy, five Emmy nominations, and three international awards from the Broadcast Designers Association.

Budding Reader eBooks use an innovative format to ease children into reading. Using research-based best practices identified by the National Reading Panel, each of the five Budding Reader eBook sets (one for each short vowel sound) tells an original story over the course of ten books. Previewing a book dramatically improves reading comprehension, so Book 1 in each set is a wordless picture book which introduces the story through colorful illustrations. Repetition aids brain development, so the story is retold in Books 2-10 with an ever-expanding vocabulary. By repeating words and gradually adding new ones, Budding Reader eBooks help new readers (even reluctant ones) experience success from the very start.

In total, the Budding Reader eBook series introduces more than 60 simple words including dozens of common sight words. Learning is reinforced with free companion writing worksheets (available at buddingreader.com) which provide a multisensory experience and enable children to practice both reading and writing. A free parent guide with tips for working with new readers is also available on the website.

The fifth Budding Reader eBook set, Hens, features the short “e” vowel sound. It introduces 14 new words (are, chick, chicks, egg, eggs, Em, hen, hens, house, in, is, Jen, next, who) and reviews eight simple words previously introduced in the series (at, look, looks, see, that, the, them, to).

•Set 1: Cat and Rat (Short a; 11 words)
•Set 2: Wit and Kit (Short i; 17 words)
•Set 3: Bugs (Short u; 18 words)
•Set 4: Hop! (Short o; 18 words)
•Set 5: Hens (Short e; 22 words)

For every eBook set sold, Budding Reader donates one to a child in need. One for You. One for the World. A Better World with Every Purchase.

Gold Mom’s Choice Award Winner: The Mom’s Choice Awards has named Hens among the very best in family-friendly media, products and services.

This content is optimized for tablets.

Creation date: 2012-09-02

95 Pages

See Book on WorldCat

This book is not compatible with the following devices: Kindle 7, Kindle 8, Kindle Paperwhite.

Restricted to All but USA and Canada


Read a Preview:

Books Like This:

Budding Reader Book Set 1: Cat and Rat (10 books)
Budding Reader Book Set 2: Wit and Kit (10 books)
Budding Reader Book Set 3: Bugs (10 books)
Budding Reader Set 4: Hop! (10 books)